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Showing posts from December 14, 2018
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Branch launches cross-channel cohort analysis for app marketers

Marketers need to understand users’ behavior across platforms, and Branch is launching a new cross-platform, cross-channel cohort analysis on Thursday that it says provides a quicker way to do that.Based in Redwood City, California, Branch began as a provider of intelligent “deep-links” that linked from an email, mobile web site page or in-app ad to a specific screen inside a destination, usually a mobile app. If that app wasn’t yet installed, the deep link opened to the app’s listing in an app store to download it.Cohort analysis from engagements. With this new cohort analysis, Branch is going beyond its previous event-based reporting, such as how many users installed an app after clicking on a specific link. Now, it is tracking cohorts of users across platforms and over time. Initially, it will track groups that install an app from Branch links, or re-engage with an app after installing it or who re-engage a web site after clicking a Branch link.Branch’s links can reside in virtuall…

Want to understand your marketing stack better? Enter the 2019 Stackie Awards

It’s that time of the year again. The Stackies 2019: Marketing Tech Stack Awards are now open for entries.The Stackie Awards are given each year at our MarTech Conference to acknowledge noteworthy marketing stacks. By participating in this visualization exercise, companies have an opportunity to reflect on their own stacks, while getting a sneak peek into others’ thought processes.Conference Chair Scott Brinker says that The Stackies “isn’t a vanity award, but an educational program. Everyone in the marketing community benefits from the entries.”Digital marketers agree. In a LinkedIn post last month, digital technology consultant Farid Mheir posted what the award show means to the martech community:Farid Mheir post: LinkedIn Slideshow co-founder Amit Ranjan lauded the show for its depth of perspectives.This is a GOLDEN deck for all digital marketing folks!It captures marketing stacks of 54 diff tech cos. See examples from Cisco, Hubspot, Juniper, Kurtosys-> "The Stackies 2018: …

Six most common travel SEO mistakes to get right in 2019

Here’s a bold statement: “SEO in the travel industry is immensely challenging.”The sheer number of pages to manage, complexities of properties, flights, accommodation, availability, occupancy, destinations, not to mention the crazy amount of APIs and databases to make a travel site function, can all make life tricky for an SEO, particularly when it comes to the development queue…Having said that, there are still common mistakes and missed opportunities out there that have the potential to be really impactful and believe it or not, they don’t actually require a huge amount of resource to put right.So, here’s a list of the six most common travel SEO mistakes to get right for 2019:Forgetting about index bloatThere are a LOT of facets and filters when it comes to commercial travel category pages, arguably the most of any industry.Typically with every facet or filter, be it; availability, location, facilities, amenities nearby, occupancy etc. A URL is created with the associated parameters…

Google adds pay for conversions bidding in Display campaigns

Advertisers can now select conversion-based bidding in Google Display Network. Google has announced the availability of conversion-based bidding for display campaigns called “Pay for conversions”.Why you should careWith the new bidding options, advertisers are charged when users convert from the ads rather than for ad clicks or impressions.Similar to Google search campaigns, advertisers that want to pay by conversion set a Target CPA (cost per acquisition) in the Bidding section of campaign settings. In an example of how the pricing works, Google offered, “Let’s say your target CPA is $10, and you drove 30 conversions over the weekend. You’ll pay exactly $300, with an actual CPA of $10.”Pay for conversions uses the same bidding algorithm as click-based payment. Google says, “you’ll never pay above your target cost per action.” The goal is to generate as many conversions as possible at that target threshold.Your account must have more than 100 conversions in the past 30 days to be eligi…

Do men and women value online reviews differently?

If you’ve read any of my pieces before, you’ll know that I’m an avid advocate for reputation management and the power of online reviews for local businesses. Today, I’m not here to bang that particular drum but to take a deeper look into how gender can play a role in consumers’ behaviors around online reviews.My company, BrightLocal, recently released its annual Local Consumer Review Survey, which polls a representative sample of 1,000 US consumers on how they use online reviews. We’ve been doing this for a few years now, and it always garners a lot of interest and commentary, but for the first time we have analyzed the age and gender splits in the responses to the survey questions.If you’re interested in the generational splits, you’ll find them over on the main research piece, but what I’d like to share exclusively with my Search Engine Land readers today is how men and women differ in their attitude to, and experiences with, online reviews.Before I go ahead, I’d just like to assert…

Marketing Day: Facebook video Ad Breaks expand, YouTube intros call-to-action ad extension, more

Here’s our recap of what happened in online marketing today, as reported on Marketing Land and other places across the web.From Marketing Land:Facebook expands Ad Breaks to 14 more countries, launches Watch globally on desktop
Dec 13, 2018 by Amy Gesenhues
Says more than 75 million daily Watch visitors spend, on average, more than 20 minutes on the video platform.YouTube sunsetting call-to-action overlays in favor of new ad extension
Dec 13, 2018 by Ginny Marvin
The call-to-action ad extension will be available for TrueView in-stream ads to start.Agenda alert: Adobe is keynoting at MarTech!
Dec 13, 2018 by Scott Brinker
We’re excited to announce a newly-confirmed keynote speaker! Join us for a candid keynote conversation to learn first-hand insights about how Adobe leverages marketing technology to accomplish their business goals. The complete agenda will be posted soon – stay tuned! Connect with Ann and your martech tribe April 3-5, 2019 in San Jose. Get all […]How effective acquisit…

Official AMP plugin for WordPress released

Just a week after the momentous release of WordPress 5.0, the open-source Google-backed AMP project has launched the official version 1.0 of its plugin, which is aimed at helping users of the content management system speed up web pages on mobile devices.The plugin was originally released in October 2015. The v1.0 release has been extensively tested and is considered production-ready.Developers say this release is seamlessly integrated with standard WordPress content creation workflows, functioning both for those using the classic editor and those using the new Gutenberg block-based editor. The plugin wants to make it easy for users of the web’s most popular CMS to build sites entirely in AMP.According to the blog post announcing the release, “The official AMP plugin for WordPress provides essential tools and functionality for AMP content creation, the WordPress way. It is important to note that the plugin is not a completely turn-key solution to ‘AMPlify your site,’ but instead funct…